The University of Arkansas at Monticello will celebrate its 108th birthday at noon Monday, April 3, in the Taylor Library and Technology Center.

The event will include a presentation on the history of UAM by Mary Heady, special collections and reference librarian, as well as refreshments and displays representing the university’s student organizations.

The school that would eventually become UAM was created on April 1, 1909, with the passage of Act 100 by the Arkansas General Assembly which created four district agricultural schools. These became UAM, Arkansas State University at Jonesboro, Southern Arkansas University at Magnolia and Arkansas Tech University at Russellville.

Known originally as the Fourth District Agricultural School, UAM opened its doors for classes Sept. 14, 1910. In 1928, the school received junior college accreditation and changed its name to Arkansas A&M College. Arkansas A&M began offering baccalaureate degrees in the 1930s and received accreditation as a four-year institution in 1940.

On July 1, 1971, Arkansas A&M merged with the University of Arkansas System to become the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

Details: Rick Clubb, dean of the School of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 870-460-1047.