The University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff will go head to head with fellow Historically Black Colleges and Universities in a unique academic tournament.

The 28th annual Honda Campus All‐Star Challenge National Championship Tournament will be held April 8‐12 at Torrance, California. Teams from 48 HBCUs will compete in the final round at the American Honda Motor Co. Inc. campus.

UAPB is vying for the top prize ‐‐ a $75,000 institutional grant from Honda. UAPB will be represented by Tariq Balderos, a senior majoring in psychology from Chicago, Illinois; Akiliah Sherrill, a senior majoring in biology from North Little Rock; Carman Wilson, a senior majoring in biology from Little Rock; and Malcolm A. Jackson II, a freshman majoring in animal science from Little Rock.

Zachariah G. Butler will coach the team. Elbert Bennett, vice chancellor for Student Affairs, will attend to support the team.

“Honda congratulates University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff for qualifying for the ‘Great 48,’ an impressive feat in itself,” said Steve Morikawa, vice president of corporate relations and social responsibility at American Honda Motor Co. Inc., said in a news release.

“We’re constantly amazed by the academic prowess, teamwork and level of competition during Honda Campus All‐Star Challenge, and look forward to crowning a champion in April,” Morikawa said.

This year’s road to the championship began in the fall, with 76 HBCUs competing for a spot in the finals. The Honda Campus All‐Star Challenge tests students’ knowledge, skills and ability to quickly and accurately answer questions on world history, science, literature, religion, the arts and popular culture.

The Honda Campus All‐Star Challenge is one of Honda’s largest and longest running philanthropic initiatives in the United States. Since 1989, the program has awarded more than $8 million in grants to participating HBCUs. The participating HBCUs share in grants from Honda of more than $350,000 each year. A number of high profile former HCASC participants have been inducted into the HCASC Hall of Fame at

The 2017 finals will be live‐streamed on Monday, April 10, starting at noon ET on Details: