Byron Tate was installed as president of the Arkansas Press Association’s board of directors at the APA’s summer convention that concluded on Saturday in Little Rock. Tate, who lives in Pine Bluff, has served as editor of the Southwest Times Record in Fort Smith and as publisher and editor of the Pine Bluff Commercial. He currently is the owner and publisher of The Sheridan Headlight.

The other officers of the APA board are: Tom White, vice president, of The Advance Monticellonian; Jay Edwards of The Daily Record in Little Rock, second vice president; John Bland of the Times Dispatch in Walnut Ridge; Rusty Turner of the Northwest Arkansas Democrat-Gazette in Springdale; Ellen Kreth of the Madison County Record in Huntsville; Clark Smith of the Mena Star; Sue Silliman of the Camden News; and Nat Lea, immediate past president, of WEHCO Media in Little Rock.

The APA is a trade organization that provides training and information for its member newspapers across the state and also serves the public by helping protect basic freedoms of press, speech and the Freedom of Information Act. The four-day convention was held at the DoubleTree Hotel in downtown Little Rock.