The Jewel Bain House #4 at Pine Bluff is among nine Arkansas properties to be considered for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places.

The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider nominating the properties when the board meets at 10 a.m. Wednesday, Aug. 2, at the Department of Arkansas Heritage Building at Little Rock.

The Jewel Bain House #4 at 27 Longmeadow was built around 1965 and exhibits Japanese architectural characteristics, according to a news release.

“Although Jewel Bain never had any formal architecture training, she was very meticulous in the designing of the four homes her family had in Pine Bluff, and she employed architects mainly to draw up the formal blueprints based on her ideas,” according to the National Register nomination.

“However, the involvement of a woman in design in Arkansas in the first half of the 20th century was virtually unheard of, and it is rare even today,” according to the nomination.

Properties to be considered for National Register nomination are in six counties. They include:

• Darragh Building and Governor’s Mansion Historic District Boundary Expansion at Little Rock;

• Dr. Charles H. Kennedy House in North Little Rock and West-Blazer House near Jacksonville in Pulaski County;

• Scull Historic District at Conway in Faulkner County;

• Arkansas Research Test Station near Caddo Gap in Montgomery County;

• Johnson-Portis House at West Memphis in Crittenden County;

• Pernot House at Van Buren in Crawford County.

The Arkansas Register of Historic Places recognizes historically significant properties that don’t meet National Register requirements. The board will also consider the following for this list — Bush House at Hot Springs in Garland County; Linwood Cemetery at Paragould in Greene County; and the YWCA Building, Memorial Stadium and American Legion Building-TAC House at El Dorado in Union County.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call 501-324-9880, email or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.