The Arkansas Economic Development Commission recently awarded $70,000 to the Arkansas Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff.

The purpose is to support junior and senior ARK-LSAMP STEM majors across the Alliance and pre-first year summer institute participants.

“Having served 200 students since its inception in 2008, ARK-LSAMP is composed of nine colleges and universities, all sharing a commitment to help increase the number of well-prepared science, technology, engineering and mathematics majors and the pool of STEM graduates in the workforce of Arkansas and the nation,” according to a news release.

The participating institutions are: Arkansas State University; Philander Smith College; Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas; Pulaski Technical College; Southeast Arkansas College; University of Arkansas Fayetteville; University of Arkansas at Little Rock; University of Central Arkansas; and UAPB, the lead institution.

“Through ARK-LSAMP, for the first time, there is an assembly and networking of a representative number of public and private institutions mobilized by the embracing of a common need to produce more well-qualified STEM graduates,” according to the release. “The alliance has developed a shared vision and an action plan to enrich the STEM curricula and substantially increase the pool and the diversity of well qualified STEM college graduates who will pursue advanced degrees and enter STEM careers in Arkansas, the region, nation and globally.”

Details: Anissa Buckner, 870-575-7113.