Jefferson Regional Medical Center is proud to announce that Drew Atkinson, JRMC board member, has been named to the Board of Directors of the Arkansas Association of Hospital Trustees (AAHT).

The AAHT membership currently consists of 36 hospitals representing 443 trustees across the state. “The AAHT is associated with the Arkansas Hospital Association (AHA),” said Atkinson. “Our goals are to provide education and resources to assist hospital trustees and CEOs, as well as support AHA advocacy and public affairs activities and provide networking opportunities for members.”

The board consists of only four positions: president, past-president, president-elect and an at-large member. Atkinson is filling the at-large position, which is standard for all first-time board members. Just like the JRMC Board, all AAHT Board Members serve in a voluntary capacity and are working other full-time jobs.

Atkinson was elected to the Board of Directors of Jefferson Regional Medical Center in 2004 and has served in various committee roles since that time, including Audit Chairman and as a member of the Executive, Investment, Governance and Patient Care Committees. Atkinson is Secretary-Treasurer for Pine Bluff Sand and Gravel Company and McGeorge Contracting Co., Inc.

Atkinson’s other Southeast Arkansas community volunteer work has included serving Trinity Village Retirement Center, Committee Against Spousal Abuse (CASA), Habitat for Humanity, the Pine Bluff School Board and Go Forward Pine Bluff.