Students and faculty at the University of Arkansas at Monticello’s School of Nursing received awards recently at the 66th annual Arkansas Nursing Students’ Association state convention.

UAM nursing students received the Break Through to Nursing award for the nursing school’s “Hoedown Welcome Picnic” and the Image of Nursing Award for the “Lend a Hand to Stop a Bully” project held at UAM campus with Monticello Elementary School.

Christine Felts, faculty advisor of the UAM Student Nurses Association, received the ANSA Chapter Advisor of the Year Award. Senior nursing student Kya Standford of Arlington, Texas, received an ANSA scholarship, and junior nursing student Brooke Lampkin of McGehee was elected as the ANSA District 4 director for the 2017-2018 academic year.

Participants also included and Abby Searcy of Monticello and Christen Shipley of Wilmot, UAM SNA president.