Director Tanya N. Garfield of the U.S. Small Business Administration’s Disaster Field Operations Center-West reminded small nonfarm businesses of the Thursday, Nov. 8, deadline to apply for an SBA federal disaster loan for economic injury.

The reminder was made in an announcement Oct. 4. The applications are available for small businesses in 69 Arkansas counties; neighboring counties in Missouri, Oklahoma and Texas; and neighboring parishes in Louisiana.

These low-interest loans are to offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by drought in the following primary counties that began Nov. 7, 2017:

Primary Arkansas counties: Arkansas, Ashley, Baxter, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Carroll, Clark, Clay, Cleburne, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Crawford, Dallas, Drew, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Grant, Greene, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Independence, Izard, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lincoln, Little River, Logan, Lonoke, Madison, Marion, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Perry, Pike, Polk, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sevier, Sharp, Stone, Union, Van Buren, Washington, White and Yell;

Neighboring Arkansas counties: Benton, Chicot, Craighead, Desha, Jackson, Monroe, Phillips and Woodruff;

Neighboring Louisiana parishes: Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, Morehouse, Union and Webster;

Neighboring Missouri counties: Barry, Butler, Dunklin, Howell, Oregon, Ozark, Ripley, Stone and Taney;

Neighboring Oklahoma counties: Adair, Le Flore, McCurtain and Sequoyah; Neighboring Texas counties: Bowie and Cass.

Small nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private nonprofit organizations of any size may apply for Economic Injury Disaster Loans of up to $2 million to help meet working capital needs caused by the disaster, according to Garfield.

“Economic Injury Disaster Loans may be used to pay fixed debts, payroll, accounts payable and other bills that cannot be paid because of the disaster’s impact,” Garfield said.

“SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster. Economic injury assistance is available regardless of whether the applicant suffered any property damage,” Garfield added.

The interest rate is 3.385 percent for businesses and 2.5 percent for private nonprofit organizations with terms up to 30 years. Loan amounts and terms are set by SBA and are based on each applicant’s financial condition.

By law, SBA makes Economic Injury Disaster Loans available when the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster. The Secretary declared this disaster on March 8, 2018.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance. Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency about the U.S. Department of Agriculture assistance made available by the Secretary’s declaration. However, nurseries are eligible for SBA disaster assistance in drought disasters.

Applicants may apply online, receive additional disaster assistance information and download applications at Applicants may also call SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 or email for more information on SBA disaster assistance. Individuals who are deaf or hard‑of‑hearing may call (800) 877-8339. Completed applications should be mailed to U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX, 76155.