Recently, the Jefferson County Extension Homemakers held their Spring Council at the Jefferson County Extension Conference Room.

Recently, the Jefferson County Extension Homemakers held their Spring Council at the Jefferson County Extension Conference Room.

Nancy Rosen, president, gave the welcome address.

Andrea Hartley, secretary, called the roll of the clubs.

The special guest speaker for the event was Kaye Green, state president of the Arkansas Extension Homemakers Councils. She spoke on the many opportunities of the EHC members. There are now 4,097 members in the state of Arkansas. Green also talked about the state meeting that will be in June at Hot Springs. She gave information about the speakers and the workshops. Green also spoke about the many crafts that the members would be able to learn and bring back to their clubs.

Debbie Hollingsworth, mayor of Pine Bluff, and Dutch King, Jefferson County judge, were special guests.

Service pins were awarded to the following members:

45 years: Esta Kealer

25 years: Sarah Payton

20 years: Dee Kendrick

15 years: Faye Armstrong, Frances Dilbeck, Dixie Fritz and Lucy Meeks

10 years: Kathy Rogers, Patsy Wallace, Bithe Vickers and Alice Morrow

5 years: Jeanette Banks, Scarlett Chism, Wanda Felts, Sabrina Self-Gwin, Sarah Gwin, Sophia Gwin, Carol Hastings, Connie Herrin, Debbie James, Betty Lacy, Wanda Strickland and Marjorie Zuber

Bettye Johnson, president elect, conducted a memorial service with a moment of silence and a candle-lighting service for members who died this past year, who included Sarah James and Jimmie Lee Edwards.

New officers for the next two years were installed and they are as follows: president, Bettye Johnson; president elect, Judy Cox; vice president; Jo Ann Carr, secretary, Elizabeth Crosby; treasurer, Marnette Reed.

Tyson Foods provided chicken, which DeWayne Courtney graciously cooked, for the luncheon. The members brought potluck vegetables and desserts. Tea and coffee were provided by the council.

Grace Willing Workers provided the decorations for the event and Lunch Bunch was in charge of registration. White Hall Willing Workers were the hostesses and Camden Road was in charge of clean-up.

Members attending the event included Marnette Reed, Judy Cox, Karen Bell Fox, Jo Ann Carr, Marjorie Zuber, Sarah Payton, Dixie Fritz, Kaye Green, Joyce Johnson, Cathy Lewis, Barbara Stone, Betty Lacy, Deloris Kelley, Beverly Gilcrest, Carol Hastings, Lucy Meeks, Francis Dilbeck, Dot Hart, Sabrina Self-Gwin, Kaye Richardson, Eva Marie Pearson, Jeanette Banks, Mary Ann Stahara, Nancy Rosen, Betty Johnson, Linda Murry, Alice Morrow, Scarlett Chism, Sandy Smith, Andrea Hartley, Patsy James, Sharron Boaitey, Dutch King, Bithe Vickers, Kathy Rogers, Connie Herrin, Liz Crosby, Linda Works, Verneita Self, Brenda Robinson, Faye Armstrong, Debbie James, Esta Kealer, Margaret Thomas, Debe Hollingsworth, Carolyn Harness and Doris Turbeville.

The Jefferson County Extension Homemakers clubs are open to all eligible persons without regard to race, color, national origin, relations, gender, age, disability, marital or veteran status, or any other legally protected status.