Interim Pine Bluff Police Chief Jeff Hubanks and Deputy Chief Danna "Susie" Powell are among the candidates for the permanent chief's position, according to information released Tuesday by the city's Human Resources department.

Interim Pine Bluff Police Chief Jeff Hubanks and Deputy Chief Danna “Susie” Powell are among the candidates for the permanent chief’s position, according to information released Tuesday by the city’s Human Resources department.

At the close of business on Tuesday, 42 people had applied. The application process continues until 5 p.m. today. Click here to see the full list with basic information about education and experience (PDF file).

Hubanks has been interim chief since Jan. 1, when newly elected Mayor Debe Hollingsworth fired former chief Brenda Davis-Jones shortly after taking her oath of office. Hubanks, who originally joined PBPD in 1985, had previously retired as a lieutenant.

Powell has been with the department since 1988 and has served as deputy chief since 2005. Both she and Hubanks are Star City residents.

Other Arkansas applicants include:

• Adam Creek of Paris, Fort Smith Police Departmen’s senior criminal investigator;

• Timothy Green of Hensley, a Saline County Sheriff’s Department deputy;

• Tony Hulsey of Marion, a Crittenden County Sheriff’s Office deputy;

• James Murry of Pine Bluff, a fomer Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office deputy;

• Edward Reynolds of Forrest City, chief of the Forrest City Police Department; and

• Antonio Swygert of Dermott, a Dermott Police Department captain.

Out-of-state applicants include:

• William Caskey of Pataskala, Ohio, an Engility Corporation law enforcement professional;

• David Bailey of Thayer, Mo., chief of the Thayer Police Department;

• Christopher Barry of Cortez, Colo., occupation withheld;

• James Timothy Bryan of Alexandria, Va., an Information Sharing Initiatives program manager;

• Michael Coleman of Lewisville, Texas, tactical and special weapons and tactical unit commander for the Irving Police Department;

• Cedric Davis of Balch Springs, Texas, a Dallas County Security Department public security guard;

• Robert Dunlap of Detroit, a Wayne County Sheriff’s Office jail transition officer;

• Kenneth Ellis of Tallahassee, Fla., a Florida Department of Transportation traffic safety administrator;

• Jeffrey Fitzpatrick of Alexandria, Va., deputy chief of global operations for the federal Drug Enforcement Administration;

• Edward Hardy of Troy, Ala., a Enterprise State Community College adjunct instructor;

• Linda Haynes of Milwaukee, a G4S Security inmate transporter;

• Gregory Huntsman of Katy, Texas, occupation withheld;

• Elton Hyman of Memphis, commander of officers in school for the City of Memphis;

• Thomas Gill of Hollywood, Fla., a Miami Veterans Administration Medical Center Police Department patrolman;

• Brian Jensen of Winter Garden, Fla., a Florida Highway Patrol master sergeant;

• Lawrence Kincaid of Granger, Texas, chief of the Granger Police Department;

• Carlos Maldonado of Albuquerque, N.M., chief of the Loredo Police Department;

• Nick McBroom of High Ridge, Mo., assistant chief of the Arnold Police Department;

• Edward McIntyre of Chesapeake, Va., a Chesapeake Police Department captain;

• Bill Press of Fairhope, Ala., former chief of the Fairhope Police Department;

• Donald Raley of Butte, Mont., chief of the Paw Paw Police Department;

• Harry Richards of Kimberling City, Mo., a law enforcement professional;

• Phillip Bruce Robinette of Rogersville, Texas, former chief of the Bean Station, Tenn., Police Department;

• Harld Rochon of Belleville, Mich., a Detroit Police Department precinct commander;

• Jason Scott Scarborough of Brandon, Miss., assistant chief of the Hinds Community College Police Department;

• Frederick Smith of Phoenix, Ariz., lead school resource officer with the Maricope Police Department;

• Jerry Speziale Jr. of Wayne, N.J., deputy superintendent of the New York/New Jersey Port Authority Police Department;

• James Spurgeon of Yuma, Ariz., a Rural Policing Institute adjunct instructor;

• Clinton Strong of Clearwater, Kan., assistant director of training and flight safety with the International Cessna Learning Center;

• Bryon Waters of Ona, Fla., a federal Department of Defense program manager and trainer in Baghdad;

• Edward Woods of Chesapeake, Va., security director of the Counsins Property-Greenbrier Market Center;

• Otha Woods of Senola, Ga., an investigator; and

• Reginald Young of Lady Lake, Fla., manager of security services for the Lake County School District.

The name of an applicant from Petersburg, Va., who was listed as a senior investigator with the Virginia State University of Public Safety, was withheld.