Arkansas News Bureau

Arkansas News Bureau

LITTLE ROCK — Q. Byrum Hurst, a longtime attorney and businessman in Hot Springs, announced plans Monday to file for Arkansas’ 4th District congressional seat as a Democrat.

Hurst plans to file Tuesday for the seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Mike Ross, D-Prescott, who is not seeking re-election.

State Sen. Gene Jeffress of Louann filed for the seat last week.

Three Republicans are seeking the GOP nomination: Tom Cotton of Dardanelle, John Cowart of Genoa and Beth Anne Rankin of Magnolia. All three filed papers with the secretary of state’s office last week.

The filing deadline for Congress, the Legislature, the state Supreme Court, the state Court of Appeals and circuit judge positions is Thursday.

Twenty-three people filed Monday, bringing the total number who have filed to 243 since the filing period began last Thursday.

Filing for the 1st District congressional seat Monday was state Rep. Clark Hall, D-Marvell. Incumbent 1st District Congressman Rick Crawford, R-Jonesboro, filed for re-election last week.

Filing for the 3rd District congressional seat was Democrat Ken Aden of Russellville.

Incumbent 3rd District Congressman Steve Womack, R-Rogers, filed for re-election last week.

U.S. Rep. Tim Girffin, R-Little Rock, filed for re-election to the 3rd District congressional seat last week.