LITTLE ROCK — Arkansas' primary runoff ballots will included races beyond two congressional battles.

LITTLE ROCK — Arkansas’ primary runoff ballots will included races beyond two congressional battles.

Aside from the Democratic Party runoffs in two of the state’s four congressional districts, five legislative districts will also see runoffs on June 12.

A runoff for the state Court of Appeals, district 1, position 2, seat will be on the Nov. 6 general election ballot.

Early voting for the runoffs begins June 5. In 2010, there were runoff elections in eight legislative district races.

“The reality is that you didn’t have that many races with more than two candidates,” said Hoyt Purvis, professor of journalism and political science at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville.

This year, five of the 100 House primary races and one in the 35 Senate races included three or more candidates.

And in just one of those races, for House District 37, a runoff was avoided when Democrat Eddie Armstrong III of North Little Rock soundly defeated two primary opponents with 58 percent of the vote.

“You just didn’t have that many candidates in party primaries and there are relatively few, I think, where you had more than two that didn’t have a runoff,” Purvis said.

Many potential candidates may have opted not to run because they lacked name recognition, or knew they would face opponents who already had legislative experience, Purvis said.

In the Senate, nine primary races pitted current or former state legislators against each other. The incumbent lost in two of those primaries — in District 7, where Rep. Jon Woods, R-Springdale, defeated Sen. Bill Pritchard, R-Elkins, and in District 24, where Rep. Keith Ingram, D-West Memphis, defeated Sen. Jack Crumbly, D-Widener.

Woods will face Democrat Diane Gonzales Worthen of Springdale in the November general election.

Ingram has no Republican opposition in November, though that race is the subject of a federal voting rights lawsuit in which Crumbly claims the state Board of Apportionment intentionally redrew the district lines to dilute the black vote.

The four House runoffs are:

• District 7: Democratic primary with James McMenis of Smackover facing Albert Glenn Glover of El Dorado. The winner has no opposition in the general election.

• District 10: Democratic primary with former Jefferson County Judge Mike Holcomb of Pine Bluff facing Star City Mayor Gene Yarborough. The winner faces Republican Charles Roberts of Rison in the general election.

• District 30: Democratic primary with Charles Armstrong facing Tommy Branch Jr. The winner has no opposition in the general election.

• District 55: Democratic primary with Monty Hodges of Blytheville facing Mary Gay Shipley of Blytheville. The winner has no opposition in the general election.

The lone primary runoff in the Senate pits two Democrats with legislative experience against each other. State Rep. Eddie Cheatham of Crossett will face former state Rep. Gregg Reep of Warren. The winner with face Republican Mike Akin of Monticello in November.

Democrats in the 1st and 4th Congressional Districts also will participate in runoff elections June 12.

In the 1st Congressional District, Prosecuting Attorney Scott Ellington of Jonesboro will face state Rep. Clark Hall of Marvell in the primary runoff.

The winner faces U.S. Rep. Rick Crawford, R-Jonesboro, in the general election.

In the 4th Congressional District, state Sen. Gene Jeffress of Louann faces Hot Springs attorney Q. Byrum Hurst in the Democratic Party runoff.

The winner faces Republican Tom Cotton of Dardanelle, who defeated two Republican opponents in the primary.

Of the four state Court of Appeals races on Tuesday’s nonpartisan judicial ballot, one will be settled in the runoff on Nov. 6. State law requires judicial election runoffs to take place during the general election.

In that runoff, Lonoke County Circuit Judge Phillip Whiteaker faces attorney Jeannette Robertson of Jonesboro.