ESPNU to televise Lions game in February

Arkansas-Pine Bluff’s home men’s basketball game against Alcorn State on Feb. 11 has been set for a 7 p.m. start and will be broadcast live by ESPNU, the SWAC announced Monday.

It will be the first national-TV game for the Golden Lions since the 2010-11 season.

UAPB’s women’s and men’s teams also will play live on SWAC-TV (webcast on www.swac.org) on Feb. 23 when they host Grambling State. Tipoff for the women, who will play first, will be either 5 or 5:30 p.m.

Monticello’s Claycomb wins 4A cross country title

HOT SPRINGS — Sarah Claycomb of Monticello finished almost 9 seconds ahead of the second-place runner in capturing the 4A state girls cross country championship Saturday at Oaklawn Park.

Claycomb, a sophomore, ran the course in 20 minutes, 36.9 seconds. Madison Fires of Heber Springs was second at 20:45.7 and her teammate Mary Simmons came in third at 21:15.4.

Claycomb’s victory follows her second-place finish in the 5A 3,200-meter run in May.

Dollarway sweeps Robey on basketball court

At Robert F. Morehead Middle School on Monday, Dollarway needed overtime to defeat Jack Robey 48-44 in a junior high boys basketball game.

The teams met for the second time in three days. Dollarway won the last meeting Saturday at Jack Robey.

Sharodrick Williams scored 13 points to lead Dollarway (5-0). Chris Slater added 12 points, Cameron Girley 11 and Kendrick Hunter 10 for the Cardinals.

In girls action, Dollarway got 18 points from Serenity Alexander in a 46-13 win over Jack Robey.

Both Dollarway teams will host Monticello on Thursday at Morehead.


A-State’s Aplin named Sun Belt offensive POW

JONESBORO — Arkansas State quarterback Ryan Aplin was named the Sun Belt Conference Offensive Player of the Week on Monday after accounting for three touchdowns and 378 total offensive yards, including a season-high 334 passing yards, in a 45-23 victory over Louisiana-Monroe on Thursday.

This is Aplin’s first weekly honor of the season and sixth of his career. He completed 26 of 34 passes and threw TD strikes of 35 and 70 yards. He ran 38 yards for his other score.


Trout, Harper win rookie of year awards

Los Angeles Angels center fielder Mike Trout received all 28 first-place votes to win the American League Rookie of the Year award.

Washington Nationals outfielder Bryce Harper won the same award for the National League in a much closer vote, earning 16 first-place votes to 12 for Arizona Diamondbacks pitcher Wade Miley.

Trout, the 18th unanimous Rookie of the Year selection, batted .326 and led the AL in steals (49) and runs (129). Harper hit .270 with 22 home runs and 59 RBIs.

Non-BCS team gets access to playoff

The highest-rated non-Bowl Championship Series team will receive automatic access to a six-bowl, four-team college playoff that has been approved by the BCS Presidential Oversight Committee, CBSSports.com reported.

The highest-ranked of teams from the Mountain West, Big East, Mid-American, Sun Belt and Conference USA leagues will play in one of the three open bowls, which are to be dermined. Champions of the Big Ten, ACC, Big 12, Pac-12 and SEC are guaranteed spots each year in the Rose, Sugar and Orange bowls.

NASCAR fines Gordon, Keselowski, others

AVONDALE, Ariz. — Jeff Gordon and Clint Bowyer’s crew chief each were fined for their roles in Sunday’s altercation at the end of the AdvoCare 500 at Phoenix International Raceway.

Gordon was fined $100,000, docked 25 driver points and was put on NASCAR probation until Dec. 31, NASCAR.com reported. Brian Pattie, the crew chief, was fined $25,000 and similarly placed on probation.

The pit crews of Bowyer and Gordon were involved in a brawl at the end of the race. Gordon appeared to intentionally wreck Bowyer in Turn 4 of the scheduled next-to-last lap, and emotions boiled over to the brawl in the garage area.

Kevin Harvick won the race while Brad Keselowski took the lead from Jimmie Johnson in the Chase for the Sprint Cup with only next Sunday’s race at Miami to go. Keselowski, who leads by 20 points, must finish either 15th or better, 16th and lead at least one lap or 17th and lead the most laps to win the Cup. Otherwise, the Cup will go to Johnson, who finished 32nd Sunday after a cut tire.

Keselowski was fined $25,000 and placed on probation for having a cell phone or similar electronic device in his car.

— Commercial Press Services