Tech slips past UAM in overtime

BARTLESVILLE, Okla. — Arkansas Tech used an 8-0 scoring run in the final minute of the second half and the first two minutes of overtime to record a 68-62 win over the Arkansas-Monticello women’s basketball team Thursday in the opening round of the Great American Conference Championship Tournament.

The Cotton Blossoms led by as much as seven points five times in the first two periods, including a 56-49 lead with 2:52 remaining in the second half on a free-throw from freshman Jordan Goforth. However, the Golden Suns used an 8-2 scoring run to close out the second half to force an extra five minutes, including a layup from Jessica Weatherford with 15 seconds remaining to finalize the scoring in regulation at 57-all. That layup followed a mishandled pass from UAM on the other end with 33 seconds remaining with the Blossoms leading by two points.

For the game, UAM shot 39 percent from the field (25-of-65), 20 percent on three-pointers (4-of-20) and 50 percent on free-throws (8-of-16). ATU shot 42 percent from the field (27-of-65), eight percent on three-pointers (1-of-13) and 57 percent on free-throws (13-of-23).

Jordan Goforth led the Cotton Blossoms with 23 points on a 9-of-16 shooting performance.

UAM ends its season with an overall record of 6-21.

Long time UAM football coach dies

MONTICELLO — The winningest football coach in Arkansas-Monticello history has lost a long-running battle with Parkinson’s Disease.

Tommy Barnes, who coached more seasons and won more games than any coach in UAM history, died this evening at Drew Memorial Hospital in Monticello. He was 61.

Barnes came to UAM in 1980 as an assistant coach following a highly successful career at Montrose Academy, where he compiled a combined junior and senior high school record of 98-14-4. He became UAM’s 20th head football coach following the 1984 season and for the next 12 years guided the Boll Weevils to 69 wins, 53 losses and one tie. His 1988 and 1993 squads reached the NAIA Division I playoffs and his teams were ranked in the final NAIA Top 25 six times.

His 1993 team won the championship of the old Arkansas Intercollegiate Conference and his ’88 squad, quarterbacked by current Razorback Foundation Executive Director Sean Rochelle, is the only team in school history to win 10 games in a season.


Rivera expected to announce retirement

JUPITER, Fla. — New York Yankees closer Mariano Rivera is expected to announce Saturday he intends to retire following this season.

The Yankees have not commented on reports of Rivera’s plans or the subject of the news conference, according to MLB.com, but it has been widely reported Rivera plans to call it career when this season is over.

Rivera is the all-time major-league leader in saves with 608.

Catholic 7 to start league in July

The seven Catholic schools in the Big East Conference will officially leave the league and begin its new conference — which will keep the Big East name — on July 1, CBSSports.com reported, citing sources.

DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, Seton Hall, St. John’s and Villanova reportedly have landed a deal to hold the conference tournament at New York’s Madison Square Garden. Xavier and Butler are expected to be added to the new conference for the 2013-14 school year.

Tentative deal for new Falcons stadium struck

ATLANTA — Officials from the city and the Atlanta Falcons have struck a tentative deal to build a new billion-dollar stadium for the NFC South champions, WAGA-TV reported.

Mayor Kasim Reed said the city will contribute $200 million, which will come from the city’s hotel-motel tax, and the Falcons will contribute the other $800 million and pay an addition $50 million in infrastructure costs, the station reported.

Woods starts with 66 at Doral

DORAL, Fla. — Five golfers, including Tiger Woods, each shot 66 for their first round of the Cadillac Championship at Trump Doral on Thursday.

Woods, who has won the tournament six times, made nine birdies and two bogeys on the course nicknamed “The Blue Monster.” He is tied with Fredrik Jacobson, Sergio Garcia, Graeme McDowell and Bubba Watson.

— Staff and wire reports