Cuddyer extends hit streak to 26 games

DENVER — Colorado Rockies right fielder Michael Cuddyer extended his franchise-best hitting streak to 26 games on Saturday with a single in the first inning against the San Francisco Giants.

With Corey Dickerson on third and two outs, Cuddyer stroked an 0-2 curveball up the middle into center field to score a run. The hit also ran his streak of reaching base safely to a franchise-high 45 games.

Cuddyer’s hitting streak is the longest in the majors this season and the longest since Miami shortstop Jose Reyes had a 26-game hitting streak from July 13-August 8, 2012.

He went 1-for-4 in the 2-1 win and is currently batting .346 on the season.

Francoeur DFA’d by Royals

MINNEAPOLIS — The Kansas City Royals designated veteran outfielder Jeff Francoeur for assignment following Saturday’s 6-2 road loss to the Minnesota Twins.

Francoeur struck out as a pinch-hitter to open the ninth, dropping his batting average to .208. He has three homers and 13 RBI over 59 games this season.

The Royals filled the roster spot by recalling infielder Johnny Giavotella from Triple-A Omaha.

Kittel wins confusing Stage 1 of Tour de France

Marcel Kittel of Germany won the opening stage of the 2013 Tour de France, outsprinting Norway’s Alexander Kristoff to the finish line.

Where the race would actually finish came into question late on Saturday after a team bus was caught under the structure at the line. Tour officials quickly moved the finish to the 3-kilometer mark, but restored the original line once the bus was removed.

Because of the confusion, all riders were awarded the same finishing time for the stage.

However, the leader’s yellow jersey will be worn by Kittel, who won a Tour stage for the first time.

Kittel completed the 213-kilometer stage on the island of Corsica in a time of 4 hours, 56 minutes and 52 seconds.

It’s the 100th edition of the Tour de France and the race is devoid of a defending champion. Britain’s Bradley Wiggins is skipping the event because of a knee injury.

Former champions Alberto Contador of Spain, Andy Schleck of Luxembourg and Cadel Evans of Australia are competing this year. Contador won in 2007 and 2009, while Schleck was awarded the 2010 title after Contador was stripped for a doping offense and Evans won the 2011 crown.

Contador missed last year’s event because of his doping ban and on Saturday was caught up in a crash with just over three kilometers remaining.