Hot Springs to host annual tournament

The Diamondback Country Club in Hot Springs will host the 16th annual Terry Paul Thode Lupus Memorial Golf Tournament on September 14 with a 1 p.m. shot gun start.

The tournament is open to amateur players — both men and women — of all levels. The registration fee for Non-Diamond Members is $55 and all inclusive. For Diamond Members the fee is $45 with no golf cart.

Online registration is available at or by phone at 501-525-9380 or 800-294-8878.


Three Razorbacks voted preseason All-SEC

FAYETTEVILLE — The Arkansas football team had three student-athletes voted to the 2013 SEC Media Days Preseason All-SEC Team on Thursday.

Center Travis Swanson and defensive end Chris Smith were voted to the first team, while kicker Zach Hocker earned third-team recognition. Arkansas is the only school with a first-team representative on both the offensive and defensive line.

Swanson continues his preseason run of recognition after being named to watch lists for the Rimington Trophy, Outland Trophy and Rotary Lombardi Award as well as multiple All-American and All-SEC teams.

Smith, who was included on watch lists for the Bednarik Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Rotary Lombardi Award, has been a near-consensus first-team preseason All-SEC selection after earning honorable mention All-SEC acclaim in 2012.

Hocker enters the 2013 season as the SEC’s active career leader in total points scored, points per game and PATs made and holds school career records for points by a kicker, made PATs and PAT attempts

Small, Williams on Doak Walker Award watch list

FAYETTEVILLE — Arkansas fullback Kiero Small and running back Jonathan Williams were included on the Doak Walker Award watch list on Thursday.

Small has appeared in 14 games as a Razorback, playing in all 13 games in 2011 before suffering a season-ending injury after the first game of 2012. The senior from Baltimore, Md., has rushed one time for a one-yard touchdown, caught one seven-yard pass and returned two kickoffs for a total of 17 yards.

Williams appeared in 11 games with two starts as a true freshman in 2012, rushing 45 times for 231 yards and making eight receptions for 208 yards and two touchdowns.

A-State’s Oku named to watch list

JONESBORO — Arkansas State senior running back David Oku has been named to the Doak Walker Award watch list on Thursday.

The 2012 season saw Oku post 1,061 rushing yards, which were the 10th most in school history for a single season.

Oku recorded 16 rushing touchdowns that were the third most ever by an ASU player, sixth most in Sun Belt history and ranked tied for 13th in the nation.

His 16 rushing touchdowns as a junior were the most by an A-State player since David Hines picked up 16 as well in 1975.