Arkansas Track and Field to induct seven standouts

Arkansas Track and Field to induct seven standouts

FAYETTEVILLE — As part of its seven-member class for 2012, the Arkansas Track and Field Hall of Fame will induct five former standouts for the University of Arkansas track and field programs next week. The list of former Razorbacks being honored includes DeeDee Brown-Campbell (2000-02), Carlton Efurd (1983-86), Daniel Lincoln (2001-03), Jeff Pascoe (1984-87) and Gary Taylor (1982-85).

Campbell, a multiple-time state champion during her prep career at Little Rock Hall High School, was a two-time All-America performer for Arkansas in the heptathlon.

Efurd began his career as a prep star at Greenwood High School where he won a handful of state titles and was the mile champion at the 1981 Meet of Champions.

Lincoln was a cross country and track and field high school state champion at the Arkansas School for Math and Science before joining the Razorbacks.

Pascoe, an all-state pole vaulter at Conway High School, was a four-year letter winner for the Razorbacks. In 1986, he became the first in school history to win an NCAA title in the pole vault.

Taylor joined the Razorbacks in 1982 after a prep career in London.

In addition to the former Razorbacks, the 2012 inductee class of seven is set to include Bruce Hamlin of Southern State College (Southern Arkansas University) and David G. Teague of Hendrix College.

The 18th Annual Arkansas Track and Field Hall of Fame ceremony will be held Saturday, June 9, at 6:30 p.m. at the Wyndham Riverfront in North Little Rock, Ark. Banquet tickets are $40 each and may be ordered by check payable to ATFHF sent to Charles Tadlock, PO Box 211, Sheridan, AR 72150. The deadline to order tickets is June 4.

NFL opts to continue Pro Bowl

NEW YORK — NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell had made it clear that canceling the annual NFL Pro Bowl was a real possiblitiy after the uninspiring play of this year’s 59-41 AFC victory.

Goodell decided to continue the game after players promised to make the game more competitive in the future.

The game will be held a week prior to the Super Bowl in Honolulu. It will be the 33rd Pro Bowl in Hawaii.

Hornets win lottery for first round pick

NEW YORK — The New Orleans Hornets won the first overall pick in the NBA Draft Lottery on Wednesday.

This gives the Hornets two first round draft picks, including a No. 10 selection. Charlotte, who at 7-59 had the worst record this season, will pick second. Washington, Cleveland and Sacramento will round out the first five. Picks 6-9 are Brooklyn (which may go to Portland), Golden State (which may go to Utah), Toronto and Detroit.

Picks 11-20 are Portland, Milwaukee, Phoenix, Houston, Philadelphia, Houston, Dallas, Minnesota, Orlando and Denver. Boston will have the 21st nd 22nd picks, getting the latter from the Los Angeles Clippers, and picks 23-30 are Atlanta, Cleveland, Memphis, Indiana, Miami, Oklahoma City, Chicago and Golden State.

The draft is June 28.

Kopitar’s OT goal lifts Kings over Devils

NEWARK, N.J. — Anze Kopitar scored a spectacular goal on a breakaway with 11:47 left in overtime Wednesday night and the Los Angeles Kings beat the New Jersey Devils 2-1 in Game 1 of the Stanley Cup Finals.

Kopitar faked a backhand shot, put the puck on his forehand and beat a prone Martin Brodeur.

Los Angeles has won all nine of its road games in the playoffs, an NHL record. The Kings are now one win shy of the NHL record for postseason road victories.

More importantly, they are three wins away from the franchise’s first NHL title. They have won 11 consecutive road playoff games dating back to last season.