The state review board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider 13 Arkansas properties — including the George Howard Jr. Federal Building, U.S. Post Office and Courthouse at Pine Bluff in Jefferson County — for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places.

The meeting will be held at 10 a.m. Wednesday, Dec. 7, at the Old State House Museum at Little Rock, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced Wednesday.

The building was named in honor of the late U.S. District Judge George Howard Jr. of Pine Bluff. Howard was the first African American to serve as a federal judge in Arkansas and to serve as a justice on the Arkansas Supreme Court. He died on April 21, 2007.

Shortly after his death, Congress enacted legislation naming the federal building and courthouse in Pine Bluff the George Howard, Jr. Federal Building and U.S. Courthouse, according to the Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture.

“The Federal Building, U.S. Post Office and Courthouse at 100 E. Eighth Ave. is an International-style building constructed between 1965 and 1967,” according to a press release from the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

“The Pine Bluff U.S. Post Office and Courthouse is a good example of the commercial work of the noted Arkansas architecture firms of Erhart, Eichenbaum, Rauch & Blass and Brueggeman and Landauer & Associates, and is one of the few large-scale buildings in central Pine Bluff that exhibits characteristics of the International style,” according to the National Register nomination.

“The combined post office and courthouse was erected at a time when federal office space was in high demand nationally after World War II and new facilities were necessary to accommodate this need.”

Other properties to be considered for National Register nomination are Cumberland Towers, Fred W. Parris Towers, Jesse Powell Towers, Darragh Building and Isaac Homard House at Little Rock in Pulaski County; Aristocrat Hotel at Hot Springs in Garland County; Brinkley Concrete Streets at Brinkley in Monroe County; Lake Catherine State Park Prisoner of War Structures in Hot Spring County; St. John’s Episcopal Church at Camden in Ouachita County; First Evangelical Lutheran Church at Fort Smith in Sebastian County; Dr. James Patrick House at Fayetteville in Washington County, and Minaret Manor at Osceola in Mississippi County.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call 501-324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.