Southeast Arkansas College inducted new Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society members recently. Participants at the ceremony included, from left, front row, Sharon Ford, Rison; Ashlei Erwin, Pine Bluff; Summer Miller, Pine Bluff; Remona Davis, Pine Bluff; Kindra Bell, Pine Bluff; Lundon Deshazer, Monticello; back row, Brandey Buggs, Dumas; Bradley Robinson, Star City; Moreo Wilson, Marianna; Phyllis Monk, Pine Bluff; Billey Corley, White Hall; Shelby Stephens, Gould; Michael Gibson, Redfield; and Yasma Griffin, Pine Bluff.

Not pictured were Samantha Brann, Pine Bluff; Shania Cheatwood, Pine Bluff; RoxAnn Dozier, Little Rock; Dwayne Hayden, Pine Bluff; John Owasoyo, Pine Bluff; Adam Watson, Pine Bluff; and Joseph Wright, Pine Bluff.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education, according to a press release.

To be considered for membership into Phi Theta Kappa, a student must be pursuing an associate’s degree, have completed at least 12 hours and have a cumulative GPA of 3.5.

At SEARK, students were inducted into the Beta Gamma Mu Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa. Janice Cook, a sociology instructor, was the guest speaker. Cook challenged the students to dream big and use their time at SEARK to position themselves to accomplish great things.

Advisors for Phi Theta Kappa include JoNece Fields, Deb Pyland, Iry Rice, Shawn Willbanks and Lozanne Calhoun.