Jefferson County has been placed under a burn ban as of Oct. 18, according to a press release from County Judge Henry “Hank” Wilkins IV.

“Due to the lack of needed precipitation, dry conditions exist over all of Jefferson County. This increases the level of fire danger tremendously. It is with this in mind that a burn ban has been issued for all of Jefferson County including the cities of Pine Bluff, White Hall, Humphrey, Sherrill, Altheimer, Wabbaseka and Redfield,” according to the release.

The burn ban is in effect immediately and will continue until further notice.