The Arkansas Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation Program at Southeast Arkansas College recently announced its Science, Technology, Engineering and Math Scholars.

STEM scholars for the 2017-2018 academic year include Kendra Greenlaw, Tiana Wilson, Lawrence Morris and Antonio Spicer, all of Pine Bluff, and Mario Wilson of Marianna.

The ARK-LSAMP Program is a collaborative alliance of seven Arkansas institutions, including the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff, as the lead institution.

The goal of the program is to increase the number of baccalaureate, masters, and doctorate degree graduates in STEM disciplines entering Arkansas’ workforce, according to a press release.

“Students are introduced to techniques to troubleshoot academic, cultural, and social problems. They attend the Emerging Researchers National Conference, a Spring ARK-LSAMP Conference, and a Summer Institute, held at UAPB,” according to the release.

Kaleybra Morehead, Ed.D., SEARK vice president for academic affairs, is the college’s ARK-LSAMP program coordinator.

“The ARK-LSAMP Program is an excellent opportunity for our students who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in the classroom in a STEM area,” Morehead said. “This program contributes to the betterment of the students and this community, as well as the development of leadership skills.”

Morehead and Sam Domineck, SEARK accounts payable officer, serve as advisors for the college’s ARK-LSAMP Program/STEM Club.