A White Hall resident is among five students named to the list of Sturgis Fellows in the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville.

The 2017 class includes Ethan Bridgforth of White Hall, Lucas Bellaiche of Fayetteville, Jamie Kim of Little Rock, Mary Larkin Furlow of Fayetteville, and Margaret Woodruff of Wynne.

The Sturgis Fellowship is the U of A’s oldest and among its the most prestigious fellowship programs. It awards each fellow $70,000 over four years, according to a news release.

“These scholars are among the best and brightest students from across the state of Arkansas,” Todd Shields, dean of Fulbright College, said in the release.

Bridgforth, a graduate of White Hall High School, was class valedictorian, captain of his high school tennis team and the vice president of the National Honor Society chapter. He is an Eagle Scout and was an active member in his school’s EAST program.

Bridgforth plans to major in political science and economics. He also plans to attend law school after completing his undergraduate degree. His parents are Shane and Cherie Bridgforth, according to the release.