Pine Bluff Area Community Foundation will accept applications for scholarships Thursday, Feb. 1, through Friday, March 16.

High school seniors from Pine Bluff and Jefferson County are eligible to apply for the scholarships established for students in the general areas of sports, history, library sciences, English, education, healthcare and/or hospital administration. The scholarships aren’t limited to those areas, according to a news release.

The Pine Bluff Area Community Foundation Scholarship Committee will review applications in March and plans to award approximately 15 scholarships. Last year, $53,000 in scholarships were awarded locally.

Each scholarship has its own eligibility criteria. In general, the Pine Bluff Area Community Foundation’s scholarships are for area students pursuing higher education at two- or four-year colleges or universities, vocational schools or technical training programs. Some scholarships are designated for graduates of a particular high school or those who plan to attend a particular college. Others are based on extracurricular activities or intended college majors, according to the release.

The Robert P. Atkinson Leadership Scholarship is used for a student pursuing a master’s level or above degree with an emphasis in administration within the healthcare field.

The Betty Abbott Scholarship and the Pinchback Taylor Scholarship are available through Southeast Arkansas College and the William A. and Genevieve H. Strong Scholarship is available through the math department at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff.

“Funding for these scholarships comes from families, businesses and individuals who want to support higher education and invest in our students,” said Lawrence Fikes, executive director of the Pine Bluff Area Community Foundation. “These donors determine the size and eligibility criteria for the scholarships they create, and we manage the scholarship process on their behalf.”

More information is available online at Pine Bluff Area Scholarships are listed in the Southeast region.

Students should visit to apply for the scholarships. The deadline is March 16.