Three Jefferson County leaders are among 166 officials in 74 counties who have declared May as Historic Preservation Month and Arkansas Heritage Month.

White Hall Mayor Noel Foster, Altheimer Mayor Zola Hudson and Redfield Mayor Harmon Carter made the declarations, according to a news release.

The officials proclaimed May as National Historic Preservation Month and called upon their constituents to join their fellow citizens across the United States in recognizing and participating in the special observance.

“This Place Matters! ” is the theme for National Preservation Month 2018 and “Off the Beaten Path: Explore and Enjoy Arkansas’ Natural Heritage” is the theme for Arkansas Heritage Month, co-sponsored by White Hall, Altheimer, Redfield, the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, the Department of Arkansas Heritage and the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

“As we enjoy these month-long celebrations of our Arkansas heritage, we hope all of the people of Arkansas will take time to reflect on the importance of their local historic sites, especially those listed on the National Register of Historic Places,” Department of Arkansas Heritage Director Stacy Hurst said.

(A list of Jefferson County’s National Register properties can be found at

The proclamations from Foster, Hudson and Carter note that historic preservation is an effective tool for managing growth, revitalizing neighborhoods, fostering local pride and maintaining community character while enhancing livability; and that historic preservation is relevant for communities across the nation, both urban and rural, and for Americans of all ages, walks of life and ethnic backgrounds.

“The officials declare that it is important to celebrate the role of history in our lives and the contributions made by dedicated individuals in helping preserve the tangible aspects of the heritage that shaped us as a people,” according to the release.

For a list of Arkansas Heritage Month events, visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.