The Bess Jenkins Club held its annual spring luncheon May 9 at the Pine Bluff Country Club. The meeting was called to order by Lela R. Murray, president. Twenty-three members and two guests, Anne Robinson and Laura McCubbins, attended.

During the annual report, Murray thanked the elected officers: Norma Caldwell, Sue Merritt, and Connie Kitchens; the appointed officers: Sandy Poore, Joannye Crabb, Susan Westfall, and Judy Barrett; and the committee chairwomen: Norma Caldwell, Mary Lee Hall, Linda Eubank, Ann Thompson, and MarJo Dill for their service during the 2017-2018 year.

The annual report included a review of the programs and speakers who discussed “Historical Events That Influenced and Changed America.”

The speakers included Phillip H. McMath, an author, historian and playwright, who spoke on the Vietnam War and the Lincoln Assassination; Willie Allen, former United Press International photographer, who discussed the Kennedy Assassination; Tom DeBlack, professor of history at Arkansas Tech University, who discussed the Civil War; Judge Morris S. Arnold, United States Court of Appeals, who spoke on the Quapaw Indians and Arkansas Post; and David Ware, Capitol Historian, who spoke on the Revolutionary War.

The new officers for the year 2018-2019 were installed. The gavel was presented to the new president, Linda Eubank by Murray, and congratulations were extended to Eubank, Sue Merritt, vice president; Susan Westfall, recording secretary; and Mary Lee Hall, treasurer.

Murray thanked the hostesses, Judy Barrett, chairwoman; Scarlette Hatcher, Corinne Shepherd, and Linda Eubank. The tables were covered in floor length white cloths with baskets of pink geranium centerpieces. The napkins were tied with lime green ribbons centered with colorful butterflies.

The meeting was adjourned and luncheon was served.