RISON — Three students from Rison High School are the first to receive Arkansas Governor’s Distinguished Scholarships at Cleveland County, according to a news release.

The three recipients — Hagan Wilson, Samantha Herrington, and Nathan Hendrix — will also be the top honor graduates at Rison’s commencement exercises Thursday, May 17.

“All three, in addition to other honors, are key members of the Rison High School Quiz Bowl team that recently won second place at the state championship, with Hagan being named to the all-state team for four years in a row,” according to the release.

To receive the Governor’s Distinguished Scholarship, a student must have a 3.5 or higher grade point average, must have a 32 or higher ACT composite score, and must have been selected by the Governor’s Achievement Scholarship committee.

“Each county is awarded one governor’s scholarship, valued at $40,000, but never has a school in Cleveland County had three Arkansas Governor’s Distinguished Scholarship recipients,” according to the release.

Hendrix, son of Hope Mitcherson and Mark Hendrix, plans to attend Arkansas Tech University.

Herrington, daughter of Joe and Laura Herrington, plans to attend the University of Central Arkansas and its Honor College.

Wilson, son of Harrell and Holly Wilson, plans to attend Harding University.