The Arkansas Business & Education Alliance’s Class of 2018 Arkansas Scholars includes several students from Southeast Arkansas.

The alliance recently published a list of the statewide Arkansas Scholars, according to a news release.

Nearly 200 high school seniors from Jefferson County schools (Dollarway, Pine Bluff, Watson Chapel, and White Hall school districts and Ridgway Christian School) were recognized as “Arkansas Scholars” and received completion certificates and medallions during recent ceremonies at their schools. The list also contained students from area communities.

“Organized in 1990, ABEA is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the improvement of education in Arkansas. The mission of ABEA is to promote and support Arkansas Scholars, the organization’s signature program, which targets eighth grade students across the state to sign up for the program. The objectives of Arkansas Scholars are to encourage and motivate students to take the “SMART CORE” curriculum during their four years of high school, make semester grades of “C” or better in all courses throughout the four years, maintain a 95% attendance record and graduate on time in eight consecutive semesters,” according to a news release.

For names of students, visit the Arkansas Scholars web page at