LITTLE ROCK — American Legion Auxiliary (ALA) members elected new Department of Arkansas officers at the 97th annual state convention June 23 at Little Rock, according to a news release.

Patricia Murray of Bryant was elected the 2018-19 Department of Arkansas President. Murray, a 30-year member of the American Legion Auxiliary, is a graduate of the University of Arkansas at Monticello with a degree in business administration. As an ALA member, Murray has held numerous positions, including Southwest Area vice president, chaplain, historian, parliamentarian, constitution and bylaws chairwoman and Americanism chairwoman.

She was second vice president, public relations chairwoman, Girls State chairwoman, and constitution and bylaws chairman of her unit, the Windom-Ford Unit #343.

Other officers elected include: NE Division Vice President: Melissa Mangini; NW Division Vice President: Amanda Wade; SE Division Vice President: Catherine Fortney; SW Division Vice President: Janice Rogers; Chaplain: Judy Sellers; Historian: Wanda Honeycutt; Sergeant at Arms: Peggy Duncan; and Honorary Junior President: Faith Martin.

“American Legion Auxiliary (ALA) members have dedicated themselves for nearly a century to meeting the needs of our nation’s veterans, military, and their families both here and abroad,” according to the release. “They volunteer millions of hours yearly, with a value averaging $2 billion each year. As part of the world’s largest women’s patriotic service organization, ALA volunteers across the country also step up to honor veterans and military through annual scholarships and with ALA Girls State programs, teaching high school juniors to be leaders grounded in patriotism and Americanism.”