Southeast Arkansas volunteer fire departments are among recipients of Wildfire Suppression Kits from the Rural Fire Program.

Kits include equipment and gear for the safe suppression of wildfires and will be delivered to selected volunteer fire departments through October, according to a news release from the Arkansas Agriculture Department.

The Rural Fire Program, managed by the state agriculture department’s Arkansas Forestry Commission (AFC), received $200,000 from the United States Forest Service to purchase and distribute 67 Wildfire Suppression Kits to statewide volunteer fire departments in 2018.

Southeast Arkansas

Area fire departments selected to receive kits in 2018 are listed by fire department and county: Leola/Grant; Halley/Desha; Cornerville/Lincoln; New Edinburg/Cleveland; Swan Lake/Jefferson; County Line/Bradley; Holly Springs/Dallas; Wabbaseka/Jefferson; Ouachita Area/Dallas.

Other Arkansas departments

Volunteer fire departments elsewhere receiving kits include: Bald Knob/White; Fouke/Miller; Johnson County #6; Pea Ridge/Pope; Bayliss/Pope; Garner/White; Junction City/Union; Pettigrew/Madison; Berlin/Ashley; Genoa/Miller; Keo/Lonoke;

Ponca/Newton; Birdtown/Conway; Gepp/Fulton; Lake Norrell/Saline; Rondo/Lee; Bismarck/Hot Springs; Gilmore/Crittenden; Langley/Pike; Rose Bud/White; Black Fork/Scott; Glenco/Fulton;

Lee County; Saffell/Lawrence; Boggy Creek/Miller; Grange-Calamine/Lawrence; Salesville/Baxter; Bonnerdale/Hot Springs; Lodi/Pike; Scotland/Van Buren; Bruno/Marion; Heafer/Crittenden; Manila/Mississippi; Sulpher-Laverna/Montgomery; Carlisle/Lonoke;

Hilltop/Faulkner; Mountain Springs/Lonoke; Spring Hill/Hempstead; Cato/Faulkner; Highfill/Benton; New Deroche/Hot Springs; Sugarloaf-Slatonville/Sebastian; Hindsville/Madison;

Northside/Independence; Crawford County #4; Horseshoe Bend/Izard; Northwest Scott/Scott; Trinity/Miller; Crawfordsville/Crittenden; Humnoke/Lonoke; Oak Hill/Little River; Yancy/Hempstead; Dover City/Pope; Jacksonport/Jackson; Yarborough/Little River; Evening Shade/Sharp; Johnson County #1; and Ozan Rural/Hempstead.

“Volunteer fire departments are the primary partner to AFC crews in wildfire response and suppression but often need the specialized equipment and gear necessary for safe wildfire suppression,” according to the release. “Since 2014, more than 230 volunteer fire departments have received Wildfire Suppression Kits through the Rural Fire Program. Kits distributed this year include lightweight wildfire-resistant personal protective equipment, hand rakes, back-pack water pumps, and leaf blowers.”

Volunteer fire departments interested in participating in the Wildfire Suppression Kit program submit applications that are scored by specific criteria including fire district population, the size of the response area and wildfire equipment response needs, according to the release.

The application period for the 2019 Wildfire Protection Kit program starts in September. Details: Kathryn Mahan-Hooten at or 501-679-3183.