Omegas of Pine Bluff recently participated in the Achievement Week celebration.

The Tau Phi Graduate Chapter, the oldest Omega Psi Phi Fraternity chapter in Arkansas, founded March 15, 1927, along with the Tau Sigma Undergraduate Chapter celebrated both Founders Day and Achievement Week at its annual Achievement Week Banquet.

During the banquet, the Tau Phi Chapter honored Kent L. Moore as “Omega Man of the Year,” and Quranner Cotledge, “Citizen of the Year” for 2018, according to a news release.

Charles Harris III, the High School Essay Contest winner, received a $100 cash award. Harris read his essay to the crowd. Justin Thomasson was the chapter’s Talent Hunt winner. His talent was painting and he competed in the 9th District Meeting where four states were represented (Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Texas).

The Tau Sigma Undergraduate Chapter at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff selected Lamarius Q. McGraw as the 2018 “Omega Man of the Year.” McGraw is the Second Vice 9th District Representative.

Omega Men recognized for service included Freddie Hartsfield, oldest member with 70 plus years; Edward Mays, 70 years; and Glenn Freeman, 50 years. William Bryant, James Horton and Ronald Reynolds were recognized for 45 years of service. James McBeth was acknowledged for his service as an Omega Man.

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity was founded on Nov. 17, 1911, at Howard University at Washington, D.C. Founding members were Ernest E. Just, Edgar A. Love, Oscar J. Cooper and Frank Coleman. They selected as Cardinal Principles for the fraternity: Manhood, Scholarship, Perseverance and Uplift.

Kent L. Moore is Achievement Week Chairman. Jeff Pulliam is president of Tau Phi Chapter. Quranner Cotledge is president of Omegas of Pine Bluff.