The Pine Bluff Community Foundation is offering scholarships for Pine Bluff and Jefferson County students. Applications will be accepted until Friday, March 15.

Pine Bluff Area Scholarships are listed in the Southeast area at Scholarships are managed by the Arkansas Community Foundation. Last year, $37,750 in scholarships were awarded, according to a news release.

Each scholarship has its own eligibility criteria. In general, the Pine Bluff Community Foundation’s scholarships are for area students pursuing higher education at two- or four-year colleges or universities, vocational schools or technical training programs.

Some scholarships are designated for graduates of a particular high school or those who plan to attend a particular college. Others are based on extracurricular activities or intended college majors.

High school seniors from Pine Bluff and Jefferson County are eligible to apply for these scholarships, established for students in the general areas of but not limited to sports, history, library sciences, English, education, healthcare and/or hospital administration.

The Pine Bluff Area Community Foundation awards approximately 15 scholarships in the area. The local scholarship committee will review applications in March.

The Robert P. Atkinson Leadership Scholarship is used for a student pursuing a master’s level or above degree with an emphasis in administration within the healthcare field, according to the release.

The Betty Abbott Scholarship and Pinchback Taylor Scholarship are available through Southeast Arkansas College, and the William A. and Genevieve H. Strong Scholarship is available through the Math Department at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff.

“Funding for these scholarships comes from families, businesses and individuals who want to support higher education and invest in our students,” said Lawrence Fikes, executive director of the Pine Bluff Area Community Foundation. “These donors determine the size and eligibility criteria for the scholarships they create, and we manage the scholarship process on their behalf.”

March 15, 2019 is the deadline for students in Pine Bluff and Jefferson County to go to and apply for available scholarships.

Arkansas Community Foundation is a nonprofit organization that fosters smart giving to improve communities. The Community Foundation offers tools to help Arkansans protect, grow and direct their charitable dollars as they learn more about community needs. By making grants and sharing knowledge, the Community Foundation supports charitable programs that work for Arkansas and partners to create new initiatives that address the gaps. Since 1976, the Community Foundation has provided more than $220 million in grants and partnered with thousands of Arkansans to help them improve our neighborhoods, our towns and our entire state. Contributions to the Community Foundation, its funds and any of its 28 Affiliates are fully tax deductible.