The Pine Bluff Area Community Foundation awarded $34,000 in scholarships during recent high school and college presentations, according to a news release from Lawrence Fikes, community foundation executive director.

Awards included:

Dollarway High School — Gene Lyon Memorial Scholarship: Donteria Willis - $500 (4-year renewable.)

Pine Bluff High School — Ed Brown Memorial Scholarship: Roderick Stinson Jr. - $4,000; Jack Robey Scholarship – Pine Bluff: Allen Smith - $1,000; Pine Bluff High School Class of 1962 Scholarship: Marissa Bones - $500.

Southeast Arkansas Preparatory High School — Bridge Fund Scholarship: Osaze Cole - $2,500.

Watson Chapel High School — Jack Robey Scholarship: Logan Kidd - $1,000; Watson Chapel High School Class of 1973 Scholarship: Benjimen Neal - $500; O. C. Hauber Rotary Scholarship: A’Darius Lee – $2,500 (4-year renewable); Bridge Fund Scholarship: Morgan Edwards - $5,000.

White Hall High School — Bridge Fund Scholarship: Priscilla Foreman - $2,500.

University of Louisiana - Lafayette — Robert P. Atkinson Hospital Leadership Scholarship: Alex Staton - $5,000.

Scholarships are managed by the Arkansas Community Foundation. Each scholarship has its own eligibility criteria. In general, the Pine Bluff Community Foundation’s scholarships are for area students pursuing higher education at two- or four-year colleges or universities, vocational schools or technical training programs. Some scholarships are designated for graduates of a particular high school or those who plan to attend a particular college. Others are based on extracurricular activities, intended college majors or pursuing a graduate degree, according to the release.

High school seniors from Pine Bluff and Jefferson County are eligible to apply for these scholarships, established for students in the general areas of but not limited to sports, history, library sciences, English, education, healthcare and/or hospital administration.

“Funding for these scholarships comes from families, businesses and individuals who want to support higher education and invest in our students,” Fikes said. “These donors determine the size and eligibility criteria for the scholarships they create, and we manage the scholarship process on their behalf.”

Arkansas Community Foundation is a nonprofit organization that fosters smart giving to improve communities.

Details: Lawrence Fikes, executive director, Pine Bluff Area Community Foundation, 870-850-7934, or