Eligible residents impacted by flooding can receive disaster food stamp benefits, according to a news release.

Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) extends benefits to many households that wouldn’t ordinarily qualify but suddenly need food assistance because of a disaster.

The Arkansas Department of Human Services (DHS) announced that eligible residents in Arkansas, Conway, Crawford, Desha, Faulkner, Jefferson, Logan, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Sebastian, and Yell counties can receive D-SNAP food stamp benefits, according to the news release.

D-SNAP is authorized by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (Food and Nutrition Services) under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act because of the flooding that began May 21.

Any household in one of these counties during the flood that began May 21 that suffered disaster-related losses may be eligible to receive D-SNAP assistance. D-SNAP benefits are provided on an electronic, debit-like card and can be used to buy food items at authorized retailers.

People who can’t apply at one of the listed locations may apply at any DHS County Office, according to the release.

“To qualify for D-SNAP (disaster food benefits), you must have lived in an area impacted by the floods and suffered flood related property damages,” according to the release.

People from these counties who experienced at least one of the following as a direct result of the flooding that began May 21, 2019, may be eligible:

• Damage to or destruction of the home or self-employment business;

• Loss or inaccessibility of income, including a reduction or termination of income or a significant delay in receiving income, due to disaster-related problems;

• Disaster-related expenses (home or business repairs, temporary shelter, evacuation, etc.) that are not expected to be reimbursed during the disaster benefit period

People seeking D-SNAP must apply in-person through Friday, June 28. D-SNAP applications will be accepted at the following locations from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.:

• Jefferson County DHS Office, 1222 W. Sixth Ave., Pine Bluff;

• Arkansas County DHS Office (DeWitt), 100 Court Square, DeWitt; Arkansas County DHS Office (Stuttgart), 203 S. Leslie, Stuttgart;

• Conway County DHS Office, #2 Bruce St., Morrilton;

• Crawford County DHS Office, 704 Cloverleaf Cir., Van Buren;

• Desha County DHS Office, 200 N. First St., McGehee;

• Faulkner County DHS Office, 1000 E. Siebenmorgen, Conway;

• Logan County (Paris) DHS Office, #17 West McKeen, Paris; Logan County (Booneville) DHS Office, 398 East 2nd, Booneville;

• Perry County DHS, 213 Houston Ave., Perryville;

• Pope County DHS Office, 701 N. Denver, Russellville;

• Pulaski Jacksonville County DHS Office, 2636 W. Main, Jacksonville; Pulaski North Little Rock County DHS Office, 1900 E. Washington Ave., North Little Rock; Pulaski South County DHS Office, 1105 MLK Jr., Little Rock; Pulaski Southwest County DHS Office, 6801 Baseline Road, Little Rock;

• Sebastian County Ft. Smith Sears Bldg, 5111 Rodgers Ave., Ft. Smith;

• Yell County DHS Office, 904 M. St./Highway 10 East, Danville.

The DHS Special Investigations Unit will perform random home visits on selected cases and the DHS Quality Assurance Unit will review each case that is approved for benefits, according to the release.