The First Baptist Church Sanctuary Choir of Pine Bluff has been invited to perform at Carnegie Hall in New York City with composer Mary McDonald. The performance will be held Sunday, Nov. 17, according to a news release.

Distinguished Concerts International New York City (DCINY) recently announced that Bryan Bolton and the First Baptist Church Sanctuary Choir were invited to participate in a performance of McDonald’s and Joel Raney’s “Sing Christmas” on the DCINY Concert Series in New York City.

This performance will be held in Isaac Stern Auditorium at Carnegie Hall under the baton of DCINY artistic director, Jonathan Griffith.

“These outstanding musicians will join with other choristers to form the Distinguished Concerts Singers International, a choir of distinction,” according to the release.

McDonald will be present as composer-in-residence as well as accompanist and piano soloist for the performance. Griffith will serve as conductor for the performance and clinician for the residency.

“The First Baptist Church Sanctuary Choir received this invitation because of the quality and high level of musicianship demonstrated by the singers as well as the exceptional quality of their audition recording,” Griffith said.

“It is quite an honor just to be invited to perform in New York. These wonderful musicians not only represent a high quality of music and education, but they also become ambassadors for the entire community. This is an event of extreme pride for everybody and deserving of the community’s recognition and support,” Griffith said.

The singers will spend five days and four nights in New York City in preparation for their concert.

“The singers will spend approximately 9-10 hours in rehearsals over the five-day residency,” Griffith said. “Not all of the time is spent in rehearsals, since there is so much history and culture to see in New York City. However, the performance is the primary purpose for their visit to the city.”

Members of the First Baptist Church Sanctuary Choir include Bryan Bolton (director), Becky Reed, Zelda Hoaglan, Lisa Grigg, Pat Bethea, Linda Work, Cuba Keaton, Erin Bolton, Ann Smith, Beth Joslin, Rana McClain, Jacquisue Carr, Ouida Beck, Kandy Moore, Barbara Miller, Earl Keaton, Vernon Walker, Glenn Crain, James House, Donna Barnhart and Lisa Walker, according to the release.