The Pine Bluff/Jefferson County UAPB/AM&N Alumni Chapter held its annual scholarship gala recently at the Prince Hall Grand Lodge.

“Enhancing Academics, Empowering Students, Continuing the Legacy” was this year’s theme, according to a news release.

Approximately three hundred alumni, supporters, and guests were in attendance. Hazell Reed and Birlee Lever served as toastmaster and toastmistress for the event.

Special entertainment was provided by Kevin Crumpton Jr., a UAPB sophomore, James McBeth, GeKisha Shaw, and Tanya Walker, Ms. Alumni Queen runner-up. Video donor advertisements were provided by Ti’Ran Compton.

The purpose of the event was to support hardship scholarships for students experiencing financial difficulty while pursing a degree at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff.

Scholarship recipients were Samantha LaShae Taylor and Briara Myche Williams. Taylor, a native of McGehee, is a freshman majoring in nursing. Williams, a native of Ferguson, Mo., is a junior majoring in nursing. Both received $1,000 scholarships.

The event was held Sept. 13. The tri-chairpersons for the gala were Arlene Rice Woody, Birlee Lever and Helen Emerson. Other committee members included Gail Whitted and Tommie Bennett.

The officers of the Pine Bluff/Jefferson County UAPB/AM&N Alumni Chapter are Hazell Reed, president; Arlene Rice Woody, first vice-president; Tommy Bennett, second vice-president; Rita Conley, financial secretary; Annette Terry, assistant financial secretary; Tina Owens, treasurer; Sharon Nicholson, recording secretary; Dorothy Armstrong, assistant recording secretary; Birlee Lever, seargeant-at-arms, Emily Dendy, historian; Janice Roberts, chaplain; Charles Wesson, parliamentarian, and John Kuykendall, business manager.