The Bess Jenkins Club met Feb. 12 at the Pine Bluff Country Club. President Sandy Poore asked program chairwoman, Lela R. Murray, to introduce the speaker, Leigh Cockrum, office manager/HR advisor of Go Forward Pine Bluff Inc.

Cockrum’s program centered on her work as an employee of Go Forward Pine Bluff. She reported on the improvements that have been done and that are planned for the future of Pine Bluff.

“She emphasized the importance of citizens having positive attitudes about Pine Bluff, and inspired the members with her own upbeat attitude,” according to a news release.

Cockrum has been employed by Go Forward Pine Bluff since 2017. Prior to that, she worked for Simmons Bank for more than 19 years in the human resources area. She is the daughter of Jack and Emily Cockrum.

A graduate of the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, she has a Bachelor of Science in Education degree with a major in vocational education and human resource development.

She has been involved in civic and community activities for many years, including the Arts & Science Center for Southeast Arkansas, the Junior League of Pine Bluff, Leadership Pine Bluff and the Pine Bluff Symphony Orchestra and Symphony Notables.

She received the Catherine M. Bellamy Award for Performing Arts in 2006 and the Ella Hunn Payne Award in 2008.

A member of First United Methodist Church, she is active on staff and parish committees, and is a member of the Chancel Choir and the Chancel Hand Bell Choir. She is also the director of the Youth Hand Bell Choir.

Also during the Bess Jenkins meeting, the minutes were read by Susan Westfall, secretary, and the financial report was given by treasurer, Mary Lee Hall.

Poore announced that she had appointed a nominating committee to nominate officers for the 2020-2021 year. The committee members are Linda Eubanks, Judy Barrett, and Sharon Wyatt.

Poore also thanked the hostesses of the meeting, Sally Rae Brannon, Joannye Crabb, Karen Johnson and Connie French.