The University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff announces names of seven individuals who will be honored at the Chancellor’s Scholarship Gala.

With the theme, “A Night in N’awlins,” the black-tie gala will be held Saturday, April 25, at the Pine Bluff Country Club starting with a reception and art auction at 6 p.m. followed by a dinner and program at 7 p.m.

Waste Management, Calvin and Janetta Booker, and Perry and Vivian Stuckey Trust are the title sponsors.

This year’s list of honorees were selected for their extensive history of community involvement, philanthropic endeavors, and exemplary record of service to the community.

“They are very much deserving of the honor, and they are to be lauded for setting a positive example through their hard work and dedication in promoting growth at our university and in our community,” said UAPB Chancellor Laurence B. Alexander.

Honorees include:

• Retired Simmons Bank Executive Pat Anderson will be honored for his stellar record of community involvement and volunteerism, service to mankind, and philanthropic work on behalf of Simmons Bank.

• Donald Bobbitt, president of the University of Arkansas System, will be honored alongside his wife and long-time educator, Susan Bobbitt, for their outstanding careers in the field of education, support of the arts, and advancement of opportunities for others.

• Dr. Stephen Broughton, practicing neurologist at Southeast Arkansas Behavioral Healthcare Systems and member of the University of Arkansas Board of Trustees, will be honored along with his wife, Dr. Cheryl Broughton, retired pharmacist manager at Jefferson Regional, for their exemplary careers promoting healthy lifestyle, service to the community and UAPB, and for advancing the cause of the underserved.

• Darryl Daniels, co-founder of Jacobsen|Daniels Architectural Firm will be honored for his outstanding career in co-founding a nationally acclaimed architectural firm, which he grew from two individuals to a workforce of 200, while advancing and promoting opportunities for others.

• Perry Stuckey, senior vice president - chief human resources officer for Eastman Chemical Company, will be honored for his stellar career in the corporate sector and advancing his alma mater, UAPB. He was also named one of the top 100 influential black executives in corporate America by Savoy Magazine.

Tickets for the gala are $250 per person and may be purchased online at, in the Development Office, located in Childress Hall on UAPB’s campus, or by phone at 870-575-8701 or 870-575-8703. Because seating is limited, early purchase is encouraged.

Please make checks payable to: UAPB Foundation Fund; Chancellor’s Scholarship Gala; University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff; 1200 N. University Drive, Mail Slot 4981; Pine Bluff, AR 71601.

Corporate/group/individual sponsorships are available at these levels: Brought to You by ($10,000); Presenting ($7,500); Diamond ($5,000); Platinum ($3,500); Gold ($2,500); Silver ($1,500); Bronze ($750).

Details: 870-575-8701/8702.