The Arkansas Congressional delegation announced that more than $100 million has been approved in emergency grants to support postsecondary students and institutes of higher education impacted by the coronavirus pandemic.

Colleges and universities in Southeast Arkansas are among recipients, according to the April 10 announcement from U.S. Senators John Boozman and Tom Cotton, along with Congressmen Rick Crawford, French Hill, Steve Womack and Bruce Westerman.

The funds come from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, which became in March. The CARES Act provides nearly $14 billion to support postsecondary students and institutes nationwide.

“The CARES Act is continuing to deliver necessary funds to help Americans during this crisis. These emergency funds will aid students impacted during this crisis as their schools have been forced to close and many have lost jobs,” members said.

The funding is based on a formula which includes factors such as the number of full-time students who are eligible for Pell grants in addition to total enrollment. Additional funding will be made available by the Department of Education in the coming weeks, according to a news release.


University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff — $4,295,429;

University of Arkansas at Monticello — $3,223,313;

JRMC School of Nursing — $142,391;

Southeast Arkansas College — $1,187,530;

Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas — $905,327;


First Congressional District:

Arkansas Northeastern College $566, 883;

Arkansas State University $9,258,158;

Arkansas State University – Mountain Home $1,059,570;

Arkansas State University – Newport $1,266,638;

Arkansas State University – Mid-South $855,413;

Black River Technical College $1,643,629;

Crowley’s Ridge College $265,023;

East Arkansas Community College $840,222;

Lyon College $680,216;

Ozarka College $797,075;

University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville $1,029,926;

Williams Baptist University $528,271;

Second Congressional District:

Arkansas Baptist College $831,019;

Arkansas State University - Beebe $2,141,764;

Baptist Health College Little Rock $876,349;

Central Baptist College $822,986;

Eastern College of Health Vocations $1,332,068;

Harding University $3,252,861;

Hendrix College $1,056,780;

Philander Smith College $2,143,674;

Shorter College $1,097,484;

University of Arkansas – Pulaski Technical College $4,476,116;

University of Arkansas at Little Rock $5,956,500;

University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton $1,861,056;

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences $972,976;

University of Central Arkansas $9,604,924;

Third Congressional District:

Arkansas Colleges of Health Education $47,138;

Arkansas Tech University $7,098,986;

Ecclesia College $148,173;

John Brown University $1,316,339;

North Arkansas College $1,444,804;

Northwest Arkansas Community College $3,113,618;

Northwest Technical Institute $437,217;

University of Arkansas $15,454,361;

University of Arkansas at Fort Smith $5,511,303;

Fourth Congressional District:

Arkansas State University Three Rivers $669,324

Champion Christian College $87,078

Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas $775,262;

Henderson State University $3,767,931;

National Park College $2,285,507;

Northern Technical College $59,671;

Ouachita Baptist University $1,344,385

South Arkansas Community College $1,071,512;

Southern Arkansas University $4,025,613;

Southern Arkansas University Tech $782,909;

University of Arkansas Community College at Hope-Texarkana $1,156,335;

University of Arkansas Community College Rich Mountain $542,149;

University of the Ozarks $1,011,314.