The Pine Bluff Area Community Foundation awarded $46,100 in scholarships, according to a news release from Lawrence Fikes, executive director.

Listed by schools, recipients include:

Dollarway High School

Gene Lyon Memorial Scholarship: Romello Turner - $500 (4-year renewable.)

Pine Bluff High School

Ed Brown Memorial Scholarship: Shauwn Howell, Jr. - $4,000; Jack Robey Scholarship – Pine Bluff: Ahmad Pace - $1,000; Pine Bluff High School Class of 1962 Scholarship: Kimaryn West- $500; Bridge Fund Scholarship: Joshua J. Hunt -$8,000; Jack P. Smith Rotary Scholarship: Alexia Milton - $1,700 (4-year renewable); Joe W. Clement, Jr. Rotary Scholarship: Jonathan Burgess - $1,200 (4-year renewable); Dorothy Ezell DuPree Scholarship: Kaitlyn Peterson - $1,000; Strickland Scholarship: Damonte Johnson - $1,500.

Watson Chapel High School

Jack Robey Scholarship: Aston Copeland - $1,000; Watson Chapel High School Class of 1973 Scholarship: McKenzie Allmond - $500; O. C. Hauber Rotary Scholarship: Jordyn Jones – $2,500 (4-year renewable.)

University of Louisiana - Lafayette

Robert P. Atkinson Hospital Leadership Scholarship: Alex Staton - $5,000.


Scholarships are managed by the Arkansas Community Foundation. Each scholarship has its own eligibility criteria. In general, the Pine Bluff Community Foundation’s scholarships are for area students pursuing higher education at two- or four-year colleges or universities, vocational schools or technical training programs.

Some scholarships are designated for graduates of a particular high school or those who plan to attend a particular college. Others are based on extracurricular activities, intended college majors or for pursuing a graduate degree.

High school seniors from Pine Bluff and Jefferson County are eligible to apply for these scholarships, established for students in the general areas of, but not limited to, sports, history, library sciences, English, education, healthcare and/or hospital administration.

“Funding for these scholarships comes from families, businesses and individuals who want to support higher education and invest in our students,” Fikes said. “These donors determine the size and eligibility criteria for the scholarships they create, and we manage the scholarship process on their behalf.”

Arkansas Community Foundation is a nonprofit organization that fosters smart giving to improve communities. Contributions to the community foundation, its funds and any of its 28 affiliates are fully tax deductible.

Details: or Lawrence Fikes, executive director of the Pine Bluff Area Community Foundation, at or 870-850-7934.