LITTLE ROCK – Arkansas crop producers will have more than a dozen opportunities to get up to speed on the 2014 Farm Bill and its anticipated effects on their operation in more than one dozen free workshops through November in Arkansas.

LITTLE ROCK – Arkansas crop producers will have more than a dozen opportunities to get up to speed on the 2014 Farm Bill and its anticipated effects on their operation in more than one dozen free workshops through November in Arkansas.


The workshops are being offered jointly by the Farm Service Agency and the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture. The daytime meetings include lunch.


"The new Farm Bill is so different, so complex, producers need this specialized training to ensure a smooth transition into the 2015 growing season," said Robert Coats, professor-economics for the U of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture. "This is an opportunity to gain in-sight and a greater understanding of available program options including the Agricultural Risk Coverage, the Price Loss Coverage and Supplemental Coverage Option programs enacted by the 2014 Farm Bill and into the new web-based farm bill decision tools."


The workshops are being conducted by conducted by Tony Franco, FSA’s chief of farm programs, Anita Wilson, agricultural program specialist with FSA, Coats and other FSA and Division of Agriculture specialists.


Information requirements and programs to be covered include required information; retain or update yields; retain or reallocate base; compare agricultural risk coverage (or ARC) and price loss coverage (or PLC); consider agricultural risk coverage – individual coverage, Supplemental Coverage Option (or SCO,) and STAX offered under the federal crop insurance program; election and annual enrollment, and Web-based decision aid demonstration with examples.


Here is the schedule and local contacts for registration for each event:


Oct. 28, 9 a.m.-noon – Jonesboro, Northeast Arkansas Exposition and Conference Center, Contact: Branon Thiesse, thiesse@uaex.edu (870) 933-4565


Oct. 29, 9 a.m.-noon – Wynne, Technology Center for the Delta. Contacts: Richard Klerk, raklerk@uaex.edu (870) 238-5745; Rick Wimberley rwimberley@uaex.edu, (870) 238-5745.


Oct. 31, 8 a.m.-noon - Forrest City, Mid-South Health Systems. Contact:Mitch Crow, mcrow@uaex.edu, (870) 261-1730.


Nov. 3, 8:30 a.m. - noon – Lonoke, Arkansas Rural Water Association, Contacts:Jeff Welch, jwelch@uaex.edu, (501) 676-3124; Sherry.West@ar.usda.gov


Nov. 5, 9 a.m. - noon - Newport, ASU-Newport. Contacts: Jim Barnes, (870) 523-8986 x105; Sarah Metzger smetzger@uaex.edu (870) 523-7450.


Nov. 6, 9 a.m.- noon – Pocahontas, Black River Technical College, Development Center Auditorium. Contact: Mike Andrews, mandrews@uaex.edu (870) 892-4504.


Nov. 7, 9 a.m.- noon – Paragould, Paragould Community Center. Contacts: Allen Davis, ardavis@uaex.edu, (870) 236-6921; Dave Freeze dfreeze@uaex.edu (870) 236-6921.


Nov. 10, 6 p.m. – West Memphis, Mid-South Community College. Contact: Russell Parker, rparker@uaex.edu, (870) 739-3239.


Nov. 18, 9 a.m.-noon – Marianna, Lon Mann Cotton Research Station. Contacts: Shawn Payne, spayne@uaex.edu (870) 338-8027; Robert Goodson, rgoodson@uaex.edu, (870) 338-8027; Stan Baker, swbaker@uaex.edu, (870) 295-7720; Van Banks, vbanks@uaex.edu, (870) 747-3397.


Nov. 19, 8:30 a.m. - noon – Stuttgart, Rice Research and Extension Center. Contacts: Chuck Capps, ccapps@uaex.edu, (870) 946-3231; Grant Beckwith, gbeckwith@uaex.edu, (870) 673-2661.


Nov. 20, 9 a.m.- noon – Morrilton, Conway County Fair Grounds Multi-Purpose Building. Contact: Kevin VanPelt, kvanpelt@uaex.edu, (501) 354-9618.


Specialists, with assistance from FSA staff, will be conducting a series of web-based farm bill decision tool workshops and an on-going series of farm bill webinars. Details: Visit www.uaex.edu/farm-ranch/economics-marketing/farm-bill/.


The Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service offers its programs to all eligible persons without discrimination.