PINE BLUFF, Ark., – With yet another athletic season beginning to wind down, the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff Athletics Department showcased all the successes of the 2018-19 season at the annual Athletic Awards Banquet “Welcome to the Jungle” celebration on Monday night in the H.O. Clemmons Arena.

The night’s festivities started with acknowledgment of t

he graduating seniors, an event that specifically honors the achievements of UAPB seniors in the classroom.

Following the Welcome to the Jungle, the entire UAPB Athletics Department came together to celebrate a great year that has so far featured 49 graduating seniors, two conference coach of the year, and UAPB male and female athlete of the year.

Each UAPB’s 14 varsity sports team presented a number of specialty awards to the student-athletes that posted standout performances during their respective seasons. The Athletics Department also recognized several student-athletes, coaches, alumni, and supporters for remarkable accomplishments during the 2018-19 campaign.

The following is a list of award winners:


Unsung Hero: Justin Robinson

Lion Cub: Brandon Simon

Heart of the Lion: Nick Kreutzer

Team Hyena: Davion (Duck) White

Rumble in the Jungle: Ryan Mallison

Men’s Basketball

Unsung Hero: Terrence Banyard

Lion Cub: Shaun Doss

Heart of the Lion: Martaveous McKnight

Team Hyena: Marquell Carter

Rumble in the Jungle: Charles Jackson

Women’s Basketball

Unsung Hero: Lion Cub: Attitiana Vincent

Heart of the Lion: Noe’ll Taylor

Team Hyena: Rumble in the Jungle:

Men’s Cross Country

Unsung Hero: Kyeonia Harris

Lion Cub: Attitiana Vincent

Heart of the Lion: Noe’ll Taylor

Team Hyena: Shakendra Tilley

Rumble in the Jungle: Kye Richardson

Women’s Cross Country

Unsung Hero: Camiya Knight Heart of the Lion: Ajani (AJ) Bethea-Nurse

Team Hyena: Camiya Knight


Unsung Hero: Jamie Gillan

Lion Cub: DeJuan Miller

Heart of the Lion: Taylor Porter

Team Hyena: Xavier Mitchell

Rumble in the Jungle: Jontavis Testa


Unsung Hero: Grayson Martin

Lion Cub: Joshua McCray

Heart of the Lion: Tristan Mahara

Team Hyena: Nikalas Frimodig

Rumble in the Jungle: Dustin Maenaga


Unsung Hero: Shannon Seymour

Lion Cub: Ga’cole McGriff

Heart of the Lion: Rebecca Holmes (co)

Team Hyena: Sarah Wright

Rumble in the Jungle: Mariah Johnson


Unsung Hero: Ann Jones

Lion Cub: Desiree Bumpers

Heart of the Lion: Shanice Akins

Team Hyena: Sha’Terrika Bernard

Rumble in the Jungle: Alexandria Taylor

Men’s Tennis

Unsung Hero: Thomas Harris

Lion Cub: Thomas Harris

Heart of the Lion: Simon Lewis

Team Hyena: Le’Darrien Ledbetter

Rumble in the Jungle: Le’Darrien Ledbetter

Women’s Tennis

Unsung Hero: Manoja Reddy

Lion Cub: Ariel Zena Graves

Heart of the Lion: Ariel Zena Graves

Team Hyena: Maliak Muhammad

Rumble in the Jungle:

Men’s Track & Field

Unsung Hero: Rasheed McAlpin

Lion Cub: Rasheed McAlpin

Heart of the Lion: Travis Bibbs/ Laurel Heath

Team Hyena: Laurel Heath

Rumble in the Jungle: Franklyn Stanislaus

Women’s Track & Field

Unsung Hero: Safiya John

Lion Cub: Safiya John

Heart of the Lion: Keziann Jones

Team Hyena: Camiya Knight

Rumble in the Jungle: Sabrina Hollins


Unsung Hero: Britney Sahlman

Lion Cub: Haley Gomez

Heart of the Lion: Kendall Howard

Team Hyena: Kaityly Hapke

Rumble in the Jungle: Kendall Howard

Highest Female and Male Team GPA

Female: UAPB Volleyball

Male: UAPB Baseball

Biggest Upset

UAPB Soccer

Male and Female Athlete of the Year

Female: Keziann Jones

Male: Martaveous McKnight

Coach of the Year

Christopher McCoy